Skip to main content

EdisonJr. High School

Main Menu Toggle

2023 Medal of Honor Winners

The purpose of this award is to honor outstanding students who have proven themselves to be all-around good students, good citizens, and caring individuals who bring with them a positive force that helps to influence the school to be a better place to learn and grow.

Each school in the district asked its faculty to select students based on the following criteria: makes the most of his/her talents; makes others a priority and demonstrates this by helping without being asked; volunteers his/her time, energy, and talents to the school; has a consistently positive attitude; exhibits a good sense of humor; respects himself/ herself and others; is honest; demonstrates commitment and responsibility through good work habits, attendance, discipline, and on-time behavior; and listens to the needs and concerns of others.
Read the full nominations in the attachment below.
The following students received awards:
• Denkmann Elementary: Christopher Blackburn, Braeden Foster, Leighton Haynie, Leslie Villanueva
• Earl Hanson Elementary: Owen Chapman, Sophia Heitz, Ariana Williams
• Eugene Field Elementary: Evangelina Kendall, Rangel Magallon Jr., Mackenzie Rowatt, Johan Wenker
• Frances Willard Elementary: Ba Ba, Brandy Dopler, Emiliano Oceguera Vazquez
 Longfellow Liberal Arts: Lilliana Almanza, Giovanny Rivera-Martinez
 Ridgewood Elementary: James Eshelman, Kaelynn Gbenyo, Zachary Norman
 Rock Island Academy: Aaliyah Castaneda, Jaylen Chaney, Charis Moore, Kyrell Sanders, 
 Rock Island Center for Math & Science: Jase Blackwood, Leo Braddy, Damir McCaw, Alaina Saunders
• Thomas Jefferson Elementary: Taylor Huber, Malachi McCutchen, 
• Edison Junior High School: Jaimyiah McNeal, Nathan Pothoven, Romel Roberts, Marley Smith
• Washington Junior High School: Nathan Anderson, Karley Loveless, Liam Muir, Madalynn Penn
• Rock Island High School: Ntiruvakure Dinye, Ella Hansen, Thomas Honeycutt, Kayla Mathews, Mackenzie Meirhaeghe, Richard Niyonzima, Lah Hser Paw, Alivia Stanley
• Thurgood Marshall Learning Center - Aneesa Saldivar
BOE vice president Mike Matherly speaking
Board of Education Vice President Mike Matherly reading students names.
Student receiving a medal
Superintendent Dr. Lawrence giving winners their medals.
Student receiving a medal
medal of honor winners
2023 Medal of Honor winners with Board of Education President Terell Williams. 

Attached Files